Fourth of July fantasticness.

Standard

Ok.  My log on the 21 Day Challenge.  Day 2.  I think.

Let’s start out by posting the five things I am supposed to do every day to rewire my brain and make me more positive!

1. 3 Gratitude’s
2. Journal About 1 Positive Experience That Day
3. Exercise
4. Meditation
5. 1 Random Act of Kindness

Things that I’m thankful for today-

  1. My puppy Kuki.  She’s a good dog albeit not well trained.  She makes me smile with her enthusiasm for EVERYTHING.
  2. The ability to get a good night’s sleep.  A month ago, I wasn’t sleeping well at all.  This problem has spanned back years and all I wanted was to get a full night of sleep.  Thanks to a combination of medicines, I’m able to let go of my mind for a bit and rest my body and brain.  That’s something to be thankful for.
  3. And thirdly, I’m thankful for food.  There are millions of people in this world without enough to eat and I’m so thankful that I get to eat regularly and not have to worry about if I’ll be able to feed myself next week if I eat extra today.

My positive experience for the day came about from a situation.  I became overwhelmed by the amount of information my mom was relaying to me, got frustrated, and cried.  I was able to CRY!  I know this may be a strange positive experience for the day but I’ve been on meds that completely take away any and all of my emotions.  I basically just existed.  I didn’t cry at all, but I couldn’t be happy either.  Those meds weren’t successful obviously.  I’m happy that while I still have a lot of rough days, I’m able to feel the span of emotions, from happy to sad and everywhere in between and beyond!  So that was my positive experience for the day…crying 🙂

I took Kuki on a walk tonight and she was so excited.  She loves going outside and getting to eat things she’s not supposed to.  That usually leads to her throwing up but she doesn’t seem to upset about that when it happens so I’m not too worried!  My legs have been excessively sore since my trip to SA but they aren’t too swollen and aren’t hot so I’m not worried about any complications.  They’re just tired out from all of the walking (and dancing!) I did in Texas.  I’ve been keeping them up as much as possible.  But I still have time to go on walks.

I spent about an hour of my afternoon in bed, listening to calming music and breathing.  After getting frustrated and upset, I needed to cool down and relax.  So I did what I knew to do.  It helped a lot and I’m thankful for having the time to take for myself.

And I don’t know if this would fall into the random act of kindness category but one of my online friends was having a really rough day so I messaged her and told her that if she ever needed anything, I was there to talk.  That’s really all I’m capable of doing so I offered myself up.  Hopefully that made her feel a little better.  I know that when I get random messages from my friends, I usually have a bit of a better day.

If you’re reading this, I hope you had a happy fourth of July!  Here’s to the freedoms we have and more that will be coming someday.  Have a great night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

